Second Chance: Now available to buy on Kindle

Second Chance: A dystopian thriller about what power is willing to do to retain control, and what one person is willing to sacrifice to obtain revenge. (cover by James http://www.goonwrite.com)

Second Chance: A dystopian thriller about what power is willing to do to retain control, and what one person is willing to sacrifice to obtain revenge. (cover by James http://www.goonwrite.com)

I can’t tell you how excited I am that my book is now available to buy for the Kindle (or the Kindle app for your smartphone). And nervous. I’m very, very nervous. Still, it’s too late to worry about that now. I’ll write more about the the ideas that inspired me to write the book, some of the themes I wanted to explore, as well as the publishing process over the coming days, but for now here is a quick teaser as to what the book is about:

It had been a struggle but finally the ravages of climate change are in the past. Normality has returned and humanity is blossoming once more.

But a return to normality also brings the return of old behaviour.

Flushed with recent success and bored of being a figure-head, newly-elected delegate Stephanie Vaughn decides to take a more active role against government control. But in choosing to back a campaign to find a missing student, Stephanie unleashes a series of events that puts both herself, and anyone connected to her, in danger.

Set in the near future where everybody is connected and death isn’t final, Second Chance is a story of what power is willing to do to retain control, and what one person is willing to sacrifice to obtain revenge.

To purchase, please click on the link for your country below (I’ve seen that Amazon is yet to update the pricing for some stores. If that is the case, please try again later):

UK – Amazon.co.uk

USA – Amazon.com

Australia / NZ – Amazon.com.au

Germany – Amazon.de

France – Amazon.fr

19 thoughts on “Second Chance: Now available to buy on Kindle

  1. Cripes! You don’t sit around, do you?! I am inordinately excited to have my hands (metaphorically speaking) on a copy of ‘Second Chance’ courtesy of my Kindle – I can’t wait to begin reading it. First impressions… I love love love the cover (I want to frame that weird sploshy circle thing and put it on my wall), and your one-liner (cover picture title) and your back-of-the-book blurb. This all bodes well. You are brave and bold and I can only imagine what you must be feeling this morning. And if it’s not too weird to say this, you are ‘my first’… the first author I feel I ‘know’ (internetterly speaking) to have published. I shall settle in over the weekend and enjoy the fruits of your labours.

    • Thanks Jools! I’ll blog about it later but the publishing part was incredibly straightforward. I’m glad you like the cover. I found James on the web and he’s such a talented designer who delivers a fantastic service. He also blogs at http://humblenations.com. If you do decide to self-publish, I definitely recommend you look him up.
      As for how I feel, probably the same as I did just before jumping out of a plane a couple of years ago, a sweet mixture of terror and excitement. I can’t wait to have this same conversation with you in return!

  2. Hey Dylan, congratulations on taking the eBook route – I really hope it works out for you. It was a pleasure to edit your original manuscript and as you know I enjoyed your book’s ideas, pacing, structure and (of course) your skilful story telling – I hope others do too. See you (and Book II?) soon.

    • Hi Ben! It’s me who should be thanking you. I don’t know what I would have done if it hadn’t been for your excellent grammar, your eye for poorly structured prose and your bucket full of hyphens. If anybody reading this is looking for a great copy editor, then I can’t recommend Ben highly enoug (that was a little joke!)

  3. Bravo, Dylan – this looks great. Once I can get my hands on my husband’s kindle (that’s not a double entendre, he’s just purchased an ipad so the e reader will shortly be redundant) I shall purchase Second Chance and get stuck in. This must be so exciting for you – a great way to start the new year.

    • Thank you! I can’t wait to find out what you think. It’s all very exciting but also a little bit nerve-wracking, especially as it is quite dark and I’m not sure how some of my relatives will react when they get to certain scenes. Oh well, I guess I’ll find out soon πŸ˜‰

  4. So this is what happens when I go away for the weekend. You didn’t waste a second did you? Wow Dylan, this is amazing!! I love the book cover and the teaser. Going to read your latest post now πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Sherri. I think you’ve just found out that once I make a decision, I don’t hang about.
      I’m so pleased with the cover. James has done a great job and I wouldn’t hesitate in recommending him to anyone else.

  5. Pingback: Milestones | Suffolk Scribblings
  6. Pingback: Was the Facebook experiment really wrong? | Suffolk Scribblings
  7. Pingback: My Writing Process Blog Hop | Suffolk Scribblings
  8. Pingback: Gone fishing | Suffolk Scribblings

Don't be shy, talk to me. I promise I won't bite.

