A thank you

This is a very quick post just to thank each and every one of you who has taken the trouble to support the launch of my book. The past few days have been truly memorable. As I speak, Second Chance is currently no.25 in the Amazon.co.uk Science Fiction/Dystopian charts (it’s been as high as 21) and no.9 in the Science Fiction/Genetic Engineering chart, which is frankly beyond my wildest expectations, so an especially big thank you to everybody who has bought a copy so far.

Truly stunned

Truly stunned

The good news is that I’ve had enough sales to enable me to publish the book as a paperback, so for those of you either without a Kindle (or access to the Kindle app on your smartphone or tablet) or prefer the feel and smell of a good book, you will soon be able to read Second Chance too. I’ll let you know as soon as it becomes available.

Of course, it would be crazy to expect this level of sales to last. I’m a realist, and there is a good chance I know at least 60% of the people who have bought the book to date. Still, if you are reading it and enjoying it, please don’t forget to leave a review on the Amazon page. The more good reviews I get, the more likely other people will buy it who have never heard of me.

Finally, a very big thank you to everybody who has been in contact over the past few days. Your good wishes and encouragement have been truly touching and it is your kindness, more than book sales or chart positioning, that will stick with me long after this excitement has passed.

Thank you.

7 thoughts on “A thank you

  1. Congratulations, Dylan! It’s the sort of thing a writer hopes and dreams about – and for you it’s come true! Over the weekend I decided to buy a Kindle and pass the B&N Nook on to my daughter. It seemed I was missing out on too many books that are published exclusively with Amazon – yours included. It’s due to arrive in the mail tomorrow, and yours will be one of my first downloads. Keep your readers updated on your exciting progress.

  2. This is even more amazing Dylan, many, many congratulations, you really deserve every success. I’m so happy for you and you have also really inspired me to keep writing my book, so I thank you too! I only have a Kindle app on my smartphone for now but I might just wait for it to come out on paperback (or break down and buy a Kindle!) as I don’t really like reading a book on my phone to be honest. Either way, you can be sure I will read it! Very exciting stuff, well done 🙂

    • The paperback shouldn’t be too long, so it’s up to you. I have been genuinely taken aback by the reaction, not so much the sales which, though beyond my expectations have only just covered my costs (excluding labour!) but by the warmth so many people have shown towards me, both family, friends and my blogging family. I wasn’t lying when I said I was truly touched.

  3. I grabbed the e-book the day it came out and I finished it last night. What a gripping read! I thoroughly enjoyed the story. The way you drew it together was seamless and confident, revealing the characters, yet keeping enough back to deliver some real grit at the end. Blummin’ well done! Amazon has my 5-star review in their system. 🙂

Don't be shy, talk to me. I promise I won't bite.

