Recommended Reads: Duck by Stephen Parolini

The cover of the book Duck, showing a picture of a bomb on an orange background

I first came across Stephen Parolini through his blog novel doctor. It was the start of my writing journey and looking for advice, and Stephen’s blog had it in spades. Not did it help me focus on what I should and shouldn’t be doing, but it was encouraging, engaging, warm and very well written. He is also very funny.

Duck is a short story about Thomas Lingonberry, a young boy growing up in 1950’s USA who’s life changes when a bomb lands on his desk. We follow Thomas on his journey of  love and discovery, as the fallout from that day resonates through. It is a wonderful and warmly written coming-of-age tale. Stephen Parolini draws you into a world which while alien to someone of my age and nationality was also strangely familiar. He brings to life beautifully the memory of young love and my only complaint was that it ended. Highly recommended.

You can buy Duck from Amazon.co.uk here and from Amazon.com here.

Recommended reads are independently published books that I have bought and enjoyed. They are part of a commitment to ‘pay it forward’ to other independent authors by buying their work and promoting those that I have enjoyed, both here and on Amazon and Goodreads. I don’t accept submissions but instead focus on people who have helped or inspired me through their blogging or who actively support other writers, but I only recommend those books I have personally enjoyed. If you are an independent author I would encourage you to do the same and help pay it forward to the community. For more information please see my blog post here.

6 thoughts on “Recommended Reads: Duck by Stephen Parolini

  1. This sounds like a really good book Dylan, thanks for recommending it. Growing up in 50s America is only something I can imagine as with you but it’s an era that fascinates me. Going to your link now…

  2. Sounds like a great story. I’ve been reading Indie books by my fellow bloggers for some time now, but unfortunately, the list is so long I can never get to them all! So many books, so little time…

    • This is true, and I know you post Goodreads reviews of those you do read. Every little helps, though, and I’m sure the authors of those books you did review were delighted that you took the time and gave them the added exposure.

Don't be shy, talk to me. I promise I won't bite.

