An Indie Book: Second Chance by Dylan S Hearn

Another review, this time as a result of the Pay it Forward campaign!
I think it’s wonderful that more authors feel encouraged to try out the work of their peers, even in completely different genres, and are being pleasantly surprised by what they find!

51stories

51V6ZrL0YYL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-v3-big,TopRight,0,-55_SX278_SY278_PIkin4,BottomRight,1,22_AA300_SH20_OU02_ I recently came across a blog post by Dylan Hearn in which he regretted the fact that so few Indie authors make the effort to read (and review) other Indie authors. I took him up on the challenge and downloaded his book Second Chance on my Kindle. That was actually a bit frightening because what if I simply didn’t like it and what would I do if I disliked it and couldn’t read the book? You know how it is.

Fortunately, my fears were completely unfounded. Even though I am not a big genre reader (except perhaps for spy, political thrillers and noir books) as you know, this turned out to be one of those books that have a strong story with a plot that holds together well and, more to the point, is also well written.

The book is classified as science fiction / cyber punk but might just…

View original post 364 more words

8 thoughts on “An Indie Book: Second Chance by Dylan S Hearn

  1. I have read and reviewed over 25 books for other authors on Twitter, since 6-20-13. I wish I could say that they repaid me in kind. I can’t. The “pay it forward” idea sounds great, but…. Your point about genre preferance rings true, although I have read from some that are not my favorites. I wonder sometimes, “do my books suck that bad?” Laughing.

    • That’s tough. I don’t think you can go into this thinking of it as an “I’ll scratch your back, you scratch mine” concept but to not have anybody review one of your books in return is harsh, in my opinion.
      I personally won’t recommend books I haven’t enjoyed, mainly because I don’t like giving negative reviews. If this happened to a book where the writer had already reviewed my book, I would get back to them and explain why (because often the book is well written, just not my thing). At the very least they would have received my money.
      I wish you every success and hope the situation changes soon.

      • One man did. I support @LanceC.M. And recomend his “Wizard Dawning” series for a fun read.

  2. Hi Dylan,

    I just read the review. It was great to read honest comments with useful feedback.

    Thank you.

Don't be shy, talk to me. I promise I won't bite.

