Recommended Reads: Othella by Therin Knite

othellasmaller

What a fantastic read. It is 60 years in the future and civilisation is close to collapse. To save the world, hard decisions need to be taken. The best scientists are brought to Arcadian Heights – a purpose-built oasis in this crumbling world – with one goal: to develop technologies to avert disaster. But how far do you go before those trying save humanity end up losing theirs?

The book is written from the point-of-view of three main characters: Quentin – a spokesman for Arcadian Heights, Georgette McClain – a hard-nosed investigative reporter, and Marco Salt; each tied to what is happening in Arcadian Heights for reasons that become clear as the book progresses. The first two-thirds of the book switch not just between the different character’s points of view but also varying timelines, so I would recommend you pay attention. However, this structure worked perfectly to draw me into the world and lives Knite created.

This book works on two levels. On the one hand it is a fast-paced, science-fiction thriller, on the other a treatise on the moral grey area of the good of the whole over the good of the individual. Knite’s writing style is tight, hard-edged and uncompromising; as if Raymond Chandler decided to have a go at re-imagining Hunger Games. I was hooked from first page to the brutal finale.

I’ve read and enjoyed many self-published novels but this is the first one I wish I’d written. I cannot wait for its sequel.

Othella by Therin Knite is available from all major ebook retailers. To buy click here

Recommended reads are independently published books that I have bought and enjoyed. They are part of a commitment to ‘pay it forward’ to other independent authors by buying their work and promoting those that I have enjoyed, both here and on Amazon and Goodreads. I don’t accept submissions but instead focus on people who have helped or inspired me through their blogging or who actively support other writers, but I only recommend those books I have personally enjoyed. If you are an independent author I would encourage you to do the same and help pay it forward to the community. For more information please see my blog post here.

8 thoughts on “Recommended Reads: Othella by Therin Knite

  1. Hi Dylan, if you loved this, you’ve got to also read Echoes. I wrote a blog about how that one made me a bit green with envy. Your book ain’t half bad either, you know! Speaking of which, I must sort out the reviews 🙂

    • Echoes is on my list. I’ve a number to get through first but I’ve heard a lot of good things about it.
      Thank you so much for your kind review. It’s very much appreciated 🙂

  2. Pingback: Recommended Reads: Solace by Therin Knite | Suffolk Scribblings
  3. Pingback: Solace – a review | reading recommendations reviewed

Don't be shy, talk to me. I promise I won't bite.

