Let’s be honest: Negative Reviews

This is a great post, written from a reviewer’s perspective, on why more reviewers should leave negative as well as positive reviews. It’s a great companion piece to my blog thanking all reviewers, and I couldn’t agree with it more.

Author Unpublished

writing-1024x692Negative reviews are a bit of a hot-button topic for book reviewers. The topic tends to be polarizing in the community, and can be a bit complex if you haven’t been faced with the decision to leave a negative review before. Though every reviewer is different, and there’s no real wrong answer when it comes to leaving reviews (after all, reviews are only opinions when you get right down to it), I’d like to take a minute to shine a light on the matter.

For the most part, there seem to be two sides of the issue (though again, things are a bit more complex than that). There are those reviewers who leave negative reviews, and those that don’t. Though there can be any number of reasons for a reviewer to avoid posting negative reviews, the most common seems to come down to this: As reviewers, we feel bad leaving…

View original post 849 more words

2 thoughts on “Let’s be honest: Negative Reviews

  1. Another great perspective. The writer makes good points about the risk of never leaving negative reviews. For now, I’ll continue to limit my negative reviews to those books with a good number of reviews. For those with only one or two reviews, if I didn’t like the book, I’ll stay mum. I can’t bring myself to leave a negative review when it might be the only review the author has received. I respect people who can though, as long as the review is thoughtful in nature. It comes down to what makes us comfortable. The only obligation we ultimately have is to ourselves.

Don't be shy, talk to me. I promise I won't bite.

